The 46. Ascending collection

46. Ascending consists of six interrelated novels about five family members who each discover that they can do the extraordinary when circumstances require it. The stories are designed to be read in any order as they overlap in time and build upon each other in all directions.

The first book, One of One, is the story of telepathic Lola as she finds herself the unlikely hero in a rescue mission in Nigeria. As a lifelong empath, this sensible Texan wife and mother must come to terms with her mind-reading tendencies and in the process deal with how difficult it is to dislike others when you can feel their hopes and fears. One of One is the story of very different people learning to understand one another. It was first published in March 2012 as x0. It was renamed, shortened and  re-released in January 2019. Learn more by visiting the blog, Face Painting for World Peace.

The second novel, Shape of Secrets, tells of Lola’s son Zane, an misfit genius who just wants to be himself and who has always had an odd ability to alter his appearance. When he lands in the sales department of a pharmaceutical company, he is sent to the South Pacific where he must deal with unexpected dangers once he uncovers mysteries that his company has worked hard to keep hidden. This is a story about being true to who you are, and the importance of finding joy in your life. Shape of Secrets was first published as y1 in September 2012, has been renamed and shortened, and will be re-released in February 2019. Learn more by exploring the rest of this blog, at Fire Dancing for Fun and Profit.

twists v4 Twists of Time tells the tale of Zane’s father Alex, a man who once walked away from an ability to warp time, thinking it was only a trick to play basketball better. Alex discovers he must relearn the skill in order to protect his students at a high school that is trying to turn the clock backwards to an era of white supremacy. This is a story about the nature of time, and how it heals wounds and produces hope. Twists of Time was first published as z2 in January 2013 and it will be renamed, shortened and re-released in March 2019. Learn more at Treasure Hunting for a Good Time, the blog for Twists of Time.

TeddieLayers of Light takes place in Darjeeling, where Alex’s youngest daughter Teddie discovers a frightening world in which young girls are bartered and sold. Her life takes an even stranger turn when an ancient group offers to train her to save others by using her innate skills for out of body experiences. This is story of courage, and of how even the most vulnerable can learn to be strong. Layers of Light was first published as c3 in January 2014 and it will be renamed, shortened and re-released in April 2019. Learn more at Leaving the Nest to Touch the Sky, the blog for Layers of Light.

Flickers of Fortune tells of Teddie’s older sister Ariel, a clairvoyant young woman who ignores her visions of the future until she discovers an entire group of seers who have learned how to make massive profits from their knowledge. They lead her to a disturbing second group who is obsessed with using their talents to understand a dark future they can’t ignore. This story about honor in the strangest and most unexpected of circumstances was first published as d4 in December 2014 and it will be renamed, shortened and re-released in May 2019. Learn more by exploring  Touching the Sky to Save the World, the blog for Flickers of Fortune..

The last novel in the 46. Ascending collection, One of Two, returns to Lola’s story as she discovers another group of telepaths with a much different approach to using their powers. Soon, Lola and those close to her are in danger. The good news is she has discovered  the people she loves have special gifts of their own. The less good news is that every power they possess may not be enough to keep these others from destroying all Lola holds dear. This story about the importance of truth was first published as One Too in December 2017 and it will be renamed, shortened and re-released in June 2019.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s